Tickets in SteadyPoint Helpdesk go through multiple stages. Today, we’re going to cover what these stages are and what that means for your ticket. By the end of this blog, we hope that you are familiar with tickets in Helpdesk, from creation to closure.
The blog will cover the 4 main stages in a tickets life cycle, in addition to the one special case of a cancelled ticket, and the scenarios that result in these cases.
- Re-assign ticket
- Send back to author
- Waiting for verification
- Ticket auto-close
- Re-Open Ticket
- Cancelled Ticket
Any created ticket that has not yet been assigned receives the status new. This applies to tickets that are routed either through a resource pool or SPOC, and require the ticket to be claimed or assigned.
Tickets still under the status new can also be cancelled. We’ll cover this section later on.
A ticket with the status of open means it has been assigned for handling.
An assigned ticket can be re-assigned, sent back to the author, or fixed. We’re going to discuss each scenario separately.
2.1 Re-assign ticket
If you’re assigned a ticket, you can re-assign a ticket to a different user if you received it by mistake, or if someone else is better at dealing with it. All you have to do is press the re-assign ticket button, insert the name or email of that person and click re-assign.
They will receive a notification alerting them that they have been assigned a new ticket.
2.2 Send back to author
You can send any created ticket back to its author in case its missing details. You can do that by clicking the send back to author button.
The ticket author receives a notification alerting them of the ticket having been sent back. They can alter the description of the ticket, the assignee (in manual assignment), the area/type/sub-type (for automatic routing) among other items.
When done, the author can submit the ticket again and confirm the changes.
3. Waiting for verification
A ticket waiting for verification is in the possession of the ticket author, and is waiting for confirmation on whether or not the problem has indeed been resolved. The ticket author receives a notification of the ticket being returned to them.
By pressing fixed, the ticket moves onto the final life cycle stage; becoming a closed ticket. By pressing not fixed, the ticket is returned to the person assigned the ticket.
The assignee is notified that the problem has still not been addressed. The ticket status is set back to open, where the ticket assignee can update the resolution and hit fix.
If you go to the ticket history, you can see that the action of the fix being rejected has been noted in the ticket history.
3.1 Ticket Auto-close
In certain instances, your users might not go back to verify the solution for a ticket. Instead of leaving the ticket opened in perpetuity, Helpdesk has an auto-close functionality that triggers tickets in the stage of waiting for verification to close after a pre-set period of time elapses.
You can learn more about ticket auto-close and how you can use it by reading out entry on it, found here.
When a ticket is finally verified by the author, or if auto-close is triggered, the ticket moves to its final life stage of closed. You can view your closed tickets by going to the closed tickets list.
The status of the ticket is set to closed. The resolution and the description of the ticket are maintained.
A closed ticket is then sent to the knowledge base for preservation. You can view the knowledge base by going to the knowledge base.
Or if you start a new ticket with a similar name, it will pop up that there’s a ticket in the system.
And if you click on the little icon at the end of the name, it will take you to the ticket item as its found in the knowledge base.
4.1 Re-open ticket
A closed ticket can be re-opened if the problem persists or returns by the ticket author. By going to the bottom of the closed ticket and clicking re-open.